Vegan Banana Bread

A couple of weeks ago I tried banana bread for the first time. I know I’m a late bloomer with this, but don’t worry, I had the same amount banana bread in a few weeks, which you have had over a couple of years.

After that first slice I wanted to make it myself, so I started searching for a good vegan banana bread recipe. I found one at Lisa Goes Vegan, which forms a really good base, but I wanted to spice it up a little and that formed my own recipe. I even prefer this one over the one I had at the restaurant, it’s that good!

Ingredients

Dry ingredients

  • 250 grams of speltflour or oatflour
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of bakingpowder
  • A pinch of salt

Liquid ingredients

  • 4 ripe bananas
  • 2 tablespoons of soft coconut oil
  • 5 medjool dates

Trick to get your bread fluffy

  • 1/2 a teaspoon of apple cide vinegar
  • 1/2 a teaspoo of baking soda

Spices

  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of gingerbread spice mix
  •  1/2 a teaspoon of ginger
  • a little amount of vanilla powder

Filling

  • A handful of mixed nuts. I used cashews and walnuts
  • Unsweetend dried apricots cut in smaller cubes

 

Method

  1. Set your oven to 180 ºC and cover your baking tin with greaseproof paper
  2. Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl
  3. Blend all you liquid ingredients in a blender and mix this with the dry ingredients.
  4. Add the mixture of bakingsoda and apple cider vinegar, all your spices and the rest of the filling.
  5. Put the batter in the baking tin and bake this for 40 to 45 minutes in the middle of the oven. I prefer to bake it around 40, so the bread doesn’t get too dry. If you really want a bread texture, you should bake it around 45 minutes.

1502261154338[1]

I love to cut two big pieces for breakfast or take this with me while traveling, so I always have something on hand.

Let me know if you tried it and love it as much as I do!

 

 

 

Plaats een reactie